Oshana Region, a geographical area in the central part of the north of Namibia has a surface of 8,647 km². This area includes a portion of the Etosha National Park, including Okaukuejo Rest Camp, South of the Cordon fence. The north, the region is bordered by the Ohangwena Region; to the east it shares a common border with Oshikoto Region, to the south, the region borders onto the Kunene Region while the Omusati Region borders it to the west. The region is relatively homologenous in terms of climate, topography, vegetation, water resources and cultural composition. The northern part of the region is relatively densely populated while the central part of the region, north of the Etosha pan is sparsely populated.

The region is characterized by a communal land tenure system utilized under customary forms of land tenure. The main Towns of the Region are Oshakati, Ongwediva and Ondangwa. The Oshana Regional Council is comprised of elected officials (councilors) and appointed officials (civil servants) and ought to be both a legislative and executive body in its social status.

There are eleven elected regional councilors who represent a respective constituency in the region, but collectively function as a regional council.